Puerto Rico, the 51st State

Puerto Rico is an unincorporated territory of the United States. What does that mean? Under the U.S. Constitution, there are two possible relationships a piece of land belonging to the… Read more »

Indiana – the 19th State

By 1800, the Northwest Territory had been divided into two parts: Ohio and Indiana. Indiana Territory formed the western border of the Ohio Territory. Ohio was already in the transition… Read more »

Statehood for Mississippi

The British ceded the area that is now Mississippi to the U.S. in 1783 under the Treaty of Paris, which ended the Revolutionary War. In 1802 the State of Georgia… Read more »

Illinois – The 21st State

Britain surrendered its claims over the vast territory named Indiana after its tribal inhabitants, under the 1778 treaty of peace ending the Revolutionary War. At the time the U.S. comprised… Read more »

Alabama’s Path to Statehood

The British ceded their claims to territory that later became part of Alabama in the treaty of 1783 ending the American Revolutionary War in which the U.S. won its independence…. Read more »