The Puerto Rico Status Act for 2023, HR 2757, was introduced by Rep. Raul Grijalva of Arizona. It now has 49 cosponsors:

  • Nydia M. Velazquez [D-NY-7]
  • Jenniffer González-Colón [R-PR-At Large]
  • Darren Soto [D-FL-9]
  • Steny H. Hoyer [D-MD-5]
  • Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D-NY-14]
  • Ritchie Torres [D-NY-15]
  • Katie Porter [D-CA-47]
  • Daniel S. Goldman [D-NY-10]
  • Kevin Mullin [D-CA-15]
  • Melanie Ann Stansbury [D-NM-1]
  • Ruben Gallego [D-AZ-3]
  • Jared Huffman [D-CA-2]
  • Andrea Salinas [D-OR-6]
  • Sydney Kamlager-Dove [D-CA-37]
  • Brian K. Fitzpatrick [R-PA-1]
  • Maria Elvira Salazar [R-FL-27]
  • Don Bacon [R-NE-2]
  • Seth Magaziner [D-RI-2]
  • Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan [D-MP-At Large]
  • Frederica S. Wilson [D-FL-24]
  • Barbara Lee [D-CA-12]
  • Veronica Escobar [D-TX-16]
  • Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr. [D-GA-4]
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton [D-DC-At Large]
  • Andre Carson [D-IN-7]
  • John B. Larson [D-CT-1]
  • Joe Neguse [D-CO-2]
  • Lori Chavez-DeRemer [R-OR-5]
  • Andrew R. Garbarino [R-NY-2]
  • Tony Cárdenas [D-CA-29]
  • Jamaal Bowman [D-NY-16]
  • Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL-25]
  • John P. Sarbanes [D-MD-3]
  • Adam B. Schiff [D-CA-30]
  • Eric Swalwell [D-CA-14]
  • Ayanna Pressley [D-MA-7]
  • Paul Tonko [D-NY-20]
  • Nikema Williams [D-GA-5]
  • Brendan F. Boyle [D-PA-2]
  • Lori Trahan [D-MA-3]
  • Teresa Leger Fernandez [D-NM-3]
  • Dina Titus [D-NV-1]
  • Grace F. Napolitano [D-CA-31]
  • Earl Blumenauer [D-OR-3]
  • Mike Thompson [D-CA-4]
  • Ed Case [D-HI-1]
  • Debbie Dingell [D-MI-6]
  • Andy Kim [D-NJ-3]
  • Jill N. Tokuda [D-HI-2]

Do you see your Member of Congress on this list? If so, please thank them! If not, please reach out to your rep and ask them to cosponsor HR2757.

What’s a Cosponsor and Why Does It Matter?

Which states are represented?

There are 43 Democrats on this list and 6 Republicans. They represent 23 states and territories.

Cosponsors by U.S. State or Territory

  • California[10]
  • New York[7]
  • Florida[4]
  • Oregon[3]
  • Georgia[2]
  • Hawaii[2]
  • Maryland[2]
  • Massachusetts[2]
  • New Mexico[2]
  • Pennsylvania[2]
  • Arizona[1]
  • Colorado[1]
  • Connecticut[1]
  • District of Columbia[1]
  • Indiana[1]
  • Michigan[1]
  • Nebraska[1]
  • Nevada[1]
  • New Jersey[1]
  • Northern Mariana Islands[1]
  • Puerto Rico[1]
  • Rhode Island[1]
  • Texas[1]

Is your state or territory represented? If not, please be sure to reach out to your reps and ask them to add their names.

Fixing a problem

Territorial status is a problem for Puerto Rico. It is also a problem for the United States. In 1898, when Spain ceded Puerto Rico to the United States in the Treaty of Paris, some leaders in the U.S. were thinking about following the example of Europe and expanding internationally. There were also anti-imperialists. The issue was a divisive one in the U.S. just as we have divisive issues today.

That time is past. Americans no longer want be a colonial power, and Puerto Rico does not want to be a colony. The Puerto Rico Status Act fixes the problem by  asking Puerto Rico to vote for a non-territorial political status one more time. The law asks Congress to commit to honoring the choice made in the Island and to take action, as they have not done for the plebiscites in the past.

Once this law passes, Puerto Rico can move on to a non-colonial, permanent political status. We will fix the problem. Please do your part!



No responses yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up for our newsletter!

We will send you news about Puerto Rico and the path to statehood. No spam, just useful information about this historic movement.