Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon, Resident Commissioner for Puerto Rico, introduced the Puerto Rico Admission Act of 2018 today. With 36 co-sponsors, including 23 Republicans, this bill is the next step toward statehood.

The bill calls for Puerto Rico to be admitted as a state. It establishes a Task Force to make sure that Puerto Rico is treated equally with the current 50 states. It asks President Trump to proclaim Puerto Rico as a state.

We must encourage our representatives in Congress to support this bill. Introducing a bill is the first step toward changing a law. Now, with our support, the Puerto Rico Admission Act of 2018 will make its way through the process of becoming law.


The United States is a democracy. That means that the voice of the people matters. Use your voice! Share with friends and family, and speak up to your representatives in Congress.

The Puerto Rico Admission Act of 2018 has been introduced in Congress. let's make Puerto Rico the 51st state. #AdmitPuertoRico51st Click To Tweet

Thank those who have already cosponsored. If your reps haven’t done so yet, ask them to add their names in support. Here is the list of cosponsors:


  1. Jenniffer González-Colón (PR)
  2. Rob Bishop (Utah)
  3. Don Young (Alaska)
  4. Sean Duffy (Wisconsin)
  5. Thomas MacArthur (New Jersey)
  6. Elise M. Stefanik (New York)
  7. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Florida)
  8. Amata Radewagen (American Samoa)
  9. Jim Banks (Indiana)
  10. Don Bacon (Nebraska)
  11. Carlos Curbelo (Florida)
  12. Peter T. King (New York)
  13. Ron DeSantis (Florida)
  14. Mario Diaz-Balart (Florida)
  15. Ted S. Yoho (Florida)
  16. Brian K. Fitzpatrick (Pennsylvania)
  17. Claudia Tenney (New York)
  18. Raul R. Labrador (Idaho)
  19. Ryan A. Costello (Pennsylvania)
  20. David A. Trott (Michigan)
  21. Jeff Denham (California)
  22. Scott Taylor (Virginia)


  1. Stephanie Murphy (Florida)
  2. Gregorio Sablan (Northern Marianas)
  3. Darren Soto (Florida)
  4. Gene Green (Texas)
  5. Jamie Raskin (Maryland)
  6. Juan Vargas (California)
  7. Donald S. Beyer (Virginia)
  8. Madeleine Z. Bordallo (Guam)
  9. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Florida)
  10. Stacey Plaskett (Virgin Islands)
  11. Elizabeth Esty (Connecticut)
  12. James McGovern (Massachusetts)
  13. Anthony Brown (Maryland)
  14. Joyce Beatty (Ohio)




2 Responses

  1. I suggest incorporation of the territory as soon as possible. Deep cuts in the next two years could mean losing 2020 elections. The only way to stop the opposition from sabotage H.R. 6246 is becoming law. Act fast or could be late!

  2. Agree, analogy…we have waited over 120 years and right now we need to get the engagement ring right away (that is formal Territorial Incorporation), marriage will come with Statehood. This is a long effort but with an Incremental Winnings mentality we will get there. Most importantly right now for PR is to be “standardized” as a US Incorporated Territory; that will set the economic, business/industry and legal framework to put PR on an irreversible path towards statehood.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up for our newsletter!

We will send you news about Puerto Rico and the path to statehood. No spam, just useful information about this historic movement.