Every state has two senators, plus members of Congress according to the state’s population. Vermont, a small state, has just one representative. California, a large state, has 53 representatives. Florida is in between with 27 representatives.

12 of Florida’s congresspeople have already signed on as cosponsors for HR 4901, the Puerto Rico Statehood Admissions bill:

  • Rep. Darren Soto
  • Rep. Stephanie Murphy
  • Rep. Michael Waltz,
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart
  • Rep. Charlie Crist
  • Rep. Donna Shalala
  • Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz
  • Rep. Bill Posey
  • Rep. Val Butler Demings
  • Rep. Alcee Hastings
  • Rep. Ross Spano
  • Rep. Gus M. Bilirakis

Do you see your representative on this list? If so, please thank them.

Members of Congress who have sponsored a statehood bill

4 Florida congresspeople have sponsored an admissions bill for Puerto Rico in the past.

If you see your representative here, please reach out, thank them, and ask them to sponsor HR 4901.

There’s one more group. These are people who have never sponsored an admissions bill for Puerto Rico. Does that mean that they’re against Puerto Rico? Maybe not. They might not have decided. They need to hear from you.

Please reach out to these people and explain the importance of statehood for Puerto Rico.

Learn more about the representatives of Florida.

If you don’t live in Florida, please reach out to your friends and family who do live in Florida.



No responses yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign up for our newsletter!

We will send you news about Puerto Rico and the path to statehood. No spam, just useful information about this historic movement.